AFDA Finalists 2022

AFDA Finalists 2022

The five shortlisted designers for the Australian Furniture Design Award 2022 have been announced

The National Gallery Victoria (NGV) and Stylecraft are pleased to announce the shortlisted designers for the Australian Furniture Design Award 2022.

The biennial award fosters Australian designers and makers through professional mentoring, commercial production opportunities and a $20,000 prize.

From the many entries received from across Australia, a shortlist of five entrants are now invited to proceed to Stage Two and present their realised designs for exhibition and judging at the Stylecraft showroom during Melbourne Design Week 2022.

The shortlisted designers are; Ashley Jameson Eriksmoen, Chris Connell, Elliot Bastianon, Danielle Brustman and Trent Jansen.

Each of the shortlisted designers submitted design ideas judged by an industry jury of Tony Russell, Brand Director, Stylecraft; Simone LeAmon, The Hugh Williamson Curator, Contemporary Design and Architecture, NGV; Brian Parkes, CEO, JamFactory; Ross Gardam, Designer, Ross Gardam; and Kirstin Stanisich, Director, Richards Stanisich.

The winning designer will receive a $20,000 cash prize, an invitation from Stylecraft to develop a design through to commercial production for distribution and a two-week residency program at JamFactory in Adelaide to experiment with new ideas and materials, prototype new work or explore new making processes.

The winner will be announced at the Stylecraft showroom at an invitation only event. The finalists works will be on display during Melbourne Design Week, 17-27 March at the Stylecraft Melbourne showroom, 145 Flinders Lane.